Christmas: Blessings Counted

My mother gave this shirt to me for Christmas.  I totally love it, because it captures what we try to do with gifts at this time.  They must be personal and thoughtful.
My mother gave this shirt to me for Christmas. I totally love it, because it captures what we try to do with gifts at this time. They must be personal and thoughtful.

Today is Christmas, and it is probably one of my favorite holidays, however I am increasingly fed up with the fact that it is the only holiday save Easter that is being eradicated by the corporate machine, remolded into some meaningless day where you get gifts for people who are probably going to take them back anyway.

I know that Jesus was probably not born on December 25th, that it was a holiday created by the Roman Catholic Church to wash over a more pagan holiday, that consumerism is absolutely out of control to the point that people run red lights and push each other around in line for gifts, and even kill one another for the last Xbox One.

It is sad really.  I have made it a point each year to inform my children of the true meaning of this holiday which is the celebration of the birth of Jesus Christ, savior of the world.  My kids don’t  believe in Santa, and never have.  They know that gift giving at Christmas is a symbol of the greatest gift given to them which is eternal life.  A gift given that is undeserved, that is completely free, no strings attached, and it is a gift of truth.

We are so blessed.  Even though we don’t have much money, we want for nothing.  We eat well, are clothed well, have a decent home, and all of our bills are paid.  Our children try hard in school, they always look out for how they can help others, and they are well behaved in public (which takes much work, I might add).  I have a beautiful wife who allows me to write the books of my dreams, and I have been steadily selling books on Amazon and other sources, netting about $20 a month and growing.  For this I have you to thank, fellow bloggers and readers, because you guys always retweet my blog posts or get the word out for me on Facebook or Twitter.  May my blessings fall on all of you as well.

Remember that the main thing we need to take away from this holiday is that we all need to give a little more to one another, freely, without judgement, without expecting anything in return, and do it all year. That is why I do this blog.  My information and experience as a writer is yours to have.  I give it freely.  The only thing I’m asking as payment would be the editing services I offer and the cost of my books.  Advice, whether good or bad, is totally free.

WordPress has informed me that I have been blogging now (as of today) for two years.  I hope to write many other blog posts in the future that will benefit all of you, just as your experiences on your blogs benefit me.  I read them, (don’t always like, but that doesn’t really mean anything) and I love to learn from other people’s processes.

So I hope that this blog post finds you well rested and enjoying the holiday.  I hope that you were able to spend it with family.  I hope that you took a moment to take in all of your blessings.  Please don’t write today.  Take time to take account of your life and ask if you are really giving back to others or not, and then act accordingly.

God bless you all.  I certainly enjoy the experience of this blogging community.

Published by Roger Colby, Novelist, Editor

Roger Colby is a novelist and teacher who has taught English for nearly two decades. He is also an avid reader of science fiction who feels, like many other sci-fi readers, that he has read everything. He writes science fiction for the reader who is looking for the next best thing, something to excite them into reading again. This blog is his journey as a writer and his musings about writing. He also edits manuscripts for a fee and is an expert at helping you reach your full potential as a writer.

One thought on “Christmas: Blessings Counted

  1. Good thoughts. I feel the same way about the blogging. It becomes a great place to hopefully help other writers of many different and diverse writing skills and approaches. Keep it up and so will I. Pops.

Leave a comment