Thanksgiving Day Celebration

crest foods
Crest Foods in Norman, OK. The store just opened the Monday before Thanksgiving. It is an epic grocery store. It amazes me at just how much we have in this country.

Today is the day when people in the U.S. celebrate Thanksgiving.

When we get together today, I’m sure my mother is going to (as she always does) tell all of us that before we eat we must each share something we are thankful for.  This year, my mother’s house is not the center of the Thanksgiving feast as it has been for many years.  We are going to have Thanksgiving at my in-law’s home and my mother is coming over (for the first time in a long time) as a guest.  No family problems.  It just worked out that way this year.

When mom asks us to share, I have a lot to say, so I’ll say it here on the blog.

It’s been a crazy year, and I indeed feel that (more than ever) I have much to be thankful about.  I live in a country where I’m at least proud to say I can still speak my mind without being arrested.  I can go to sleep at night without the fear of being accosted and robbed or beaten to death.  My children can go to school for free.  I can go to church on Sunday and Wednesday and not be shot or thrown in jail.  I can eat from amazing supermarkets like the one pictured above at a reasonable cost.  I can write whatever I want and publish my own books without fear of reprisal.

I have finished my fifth novel (at least the rough draft).  My children are all healthy and happy.  My wife is healthy and happy.  I have a loving family, a good job, and my health is getting under control (I’ve lost 9 pounds since November 1st!).

On this holiday, whether you celebrate it or not, please take time to be thankful for what you have.  Please don’t be thinking about going out and doing some shopping and getting a great deal on that item that will end up in a garage sale when you die.  Things pass, fall away, but lives are more important.  Invest in the people around you and be truly thankful that they are in your lives, and if you live in a country that allows you to be free, then take advantage of that to help liberate those who are less fortunate or at least remember that they suffer.

Personally, I am mostly thankful that Jesus died for me, that he gave His life so that I might be free not matter the government, not matter the law, no matter the injustice.  I am not your judge.  God is our judge…my judge.  I am thankful that my lawyer is Jesus and he took my place for the sin I have done.  I have been set free to love and spread the love of Christ everywhere.

Be thankful today, and try to live like that for the rest of the year.  You will be happier if you do.

Published by Roger Colby, Novelist, Editor

Roger Colby is a novelist and teacher who has taught English for nearly two decades. He is also an avid reader of science fiction who feels, like many other sci-fi readers, that he has read everything. He writes science fiction for the reader who is looking for the next best thing, something to excite them into reading again. This blog is his journey as a writer and his musings about writing. He also edits manuscripts for a fee and is an expert at helping you reach your full potential as a writer.

One thought on “Thanksgiving Day Celebration

Leave a comment